64 brokers measured in Australiabroker data checked 11.10.2026
OANDA logoOANDAOANDA Australia Pty Ltd

OANDA in Australia — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Southerly editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of AustraliaOpened by OANDA (Australia) Pty Ltd, ASIC licence 412981, register checked 11.10.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

3.792.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%30
  • Round-turn cost20%95
  • Safety20%90
  • Payouts15%0
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%50

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.597 = 3.79 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (5 facts)

Onboarding entity
OANDA Australia Pty Ltd
Founded
1996
Round turn
6 USDAU
Currencies
Not stated in sources
Swap-free account
—
Screenshot of the OANDA website
OANDA's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards Australia residents
OANDA Australia Pty Ltd
Local standing
ASIC regulated
Licence as the register states it
ASIC AFSL 412981
Leverage for this entity
Higher leverage on CFDs
The firm behind it
Founded 1996, global broker
What we hold against it
Mixed third-party reviews

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards Australian residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youOANDA Australia Pty LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · ASIC licence

Higher leverage on CFDs

—AU
Australia median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youASIC regulated
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against Australia market median(priced from 73 of 76)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
OANDA, standard spread6
Australia median, all 73 priced6
Australia median, the 11 priced on the standard spread8

Medians run over the 73 of 76 brokers that publish a price for Australia, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Spread only, raw, premium. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Cost calculator (median of 73 priced of 76)

OANDA, per month120.00 USD
Australia median, per month120.00 USD

EURUSD round turns at the prices captured 01.10.2026. Shown in USD only: we do not publish a AUD conversion because the exchange rate is not part of our data.

Where OANDA sits in the Australia base(76 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (73 of 76 priced)

9<5
575-10
310-15
315-20
120-25
025-30
030+

Median 6 USD · range 1.5-20 · this broker 6 USD · 3 of 76 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (7 of 76 priced)

4<20
020-40
040-60
060-80
380+

Median 15 USD · range 0-100 · 69 of 76 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (42 of 76 with a Australia figure)

31<1000
61000-2000
32000-3000
03000-4000
24000+

Median 1:115 · range 30-5000 · 34 of 76 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (76 brokers)

6of 64
Published, hours6not published38OANDA is one of the 6

Payouts(2 methods)

MethodDeposit, hFee, USDMin, USD
Cards24050
Bank wire24050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (2 methods · 0 local rails)

BPAY, cards, bank wire

  • Cards
  • Bank wire
Account currency
Not stated in sources
Fee declared
2 of 2 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(11 countries)

AfghanistanBelarusChinaIndiaIranIraqMyanmarNew ZealandSouth AfricaTurkiyeUkraine

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(4 platforms)

The platform page on the OANDA website
The platform page on OANDA's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)
  • Web
  • MT4
  • MT5
  • TradingView

Identical for every row: Min spread 0.6.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

3.6/ 5
Trustpilot rating
5, 1235
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20263.65, 1235

Share of reviewers in Australia: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(3 for and 2 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Locally authorised, licence 412981, read on 11.10.2026
  • Track record 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 4 platforms: Web, MT4, MT5, TradingView
Against
  • Withdrawal in 120 h, over the Australia median 24
  • Payouts 0 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in Australia(5 of 76 scored in Australia)

4.54
AvaTrade
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
8AU
Min deposit, USD
100AU
Rank in this country
#3
4.55
Global Prime
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Min deposit, USD
0AU
Leverage
500AU
Rank in this country
#5
4.4
Axi
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Min deposit, USD
0AU
Leverage
30AU
Rank in this country
#7
4.38
Blueberry Markets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Min deposit, USD
100AU
Leverage
30AU
Rank in this country
#11
4.17
Eightcap
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Min deposit, USD
100 groupAU
Leverage
30AU
Rank in this country
#13

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a Australia score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredOANDA
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform30
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median95
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning90
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country0
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country50

FAQ

Does OANDA accept residents of Australia?
Yes. ASIC regulated Onboarding entity: OANDA Australia Pty Ltd
Is OANDA licensed to serve clients in Australia?
ASIC AFSL 412981 Checked on 11.10.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at OANDA?
About 6.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for Australia is 6.0 USD.
Which trading platforms does OANDA support?
Web, MT4, MT5, TradingView. Instruments: FX, indices, crypto, metals
How can I withdraw money from OANDA in Australia?
BPAY, cards, bank wire
What account types does OANDA offer?
Spread only, raw, premium

Taxes for an Australian resident(1 rule)

  • Forex/CFD trading gains are not subject to a special standalone tax regime in the cited sources;https://docs.oanda.com/d07765bb-5da9-41e3-ba93-1ad9cf0dfd9a/01._FSG_Jan_2025_-_Final.pdf?_gl=1*1s0c50e*_gcl_au*NzUwNDk5NTUxLjE3NTI1NzE2NTIuMTg2NjIwOTIuMTc1NzkzOTgyMC4xNzU3OTM5ODI4*_ga*NzQzNDA2NDc5LjE3NDE3NzIwOTk.*_ga_Q2HXMSGECM*czE3NTkyNDAzMzYkbzM4JGcxJHQxNzU5MjQzMjI5JGo2MCRsMCRoMA

Not tax advice. Check with the ATO.

Verified · Sources