64 brokers measured in Australiabroker data checked 11.10.2026
Interactive Brokers logoInteractive BrokersInteractive Brokers Australia Pty Ltd

Interactive Brokers in Australia — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Southerly editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of AustraliaOpened by Interactive Brokers (Australia) Pty Ltd, ASIC licence 453554, register checked 11.10.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.192.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%50
  • Round-turn cost20%100
  • Safety20%100
  • Payouts15%60
  • Track record10%100
  • Platforms10%15

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.730 = 4.19 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (5 facts)

Onboarding entity
Interactive Brokers Australia Pty Ltd
Founded
1978
Round turn
5 USDAU
Currencies
29 currencies
Swap-free account
—

Licence check

AFSL 453554
453554
Open an account with Interactive Brokers

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Interactive Brokers website
Interactive Brokers's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards Australia residents
Interactive Brokers Australia Pty Ltd
Local standing
ASIC regulated
Licence as the register states it
AFSL 453554
Leverage for this entity
Not stated Australia
The firm behind it
Global broker since 1978
What we hold against it
No major flags stated

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards Australian residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youInteractive Brokers Australia Pty LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · ASIC licence

Not stated Australia

—AU
Australia median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youASIC regulated
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against Australia market median(priced from 73 of 76)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
Interactive Brokers, raw spread plus commission5
Australia median, all 73 priced6
Australia median, the 62 priced on the raw spread plus commission6

Medians run over the 73 of 76 brokers that publish a price for Australia, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Universal Account. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Cost calculator (median of 73 priced of 76)

Interactive Brokers, per month100.00 USD
Australia median, per month120.00 USD

EURUSD round turns at the prices captured 01.10.2026. Shown in USD only: we do not publish a AUD conversion because the exchange rate is not part of our data.

Where Interactive Brokers sits in the Australia base(76 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (73 of 76 priced)

9<5
575-10
310-15
315-20
120-25
025-30
030+

Median 6 USD · range 1.5-20 · this broker 5 USD · 3 of 76 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (7 of 76 priced)

4<20
020-40
040-60
060-80
380+

Median 15 USD · range 0-100 · 69 of 76 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (42 of 76 with a Australia figure)

31<1000
61000-2000
32000-3000
03000-4000
24000+

Median 1:115 · range 30-5000 · 34 of 76 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (76 brokers)

6of 64
Published, hours6not published38Interactive Brokers is one of the 6

Deposit and withdrawal methods (1 methods · 0 local rails)

Not stated Australia

    Account currency
    29 currencies
    Fee declared
    0 of 0 methods
    Withdrawal back to
    the funding method

    Where it does not serve(6 countries)

    United StatesCanadaIranNorth KoreaLibyaSyria

    From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

    Platforms and markets(4 platforms)

    The platform page on the Interactive Brokers website
    The platform page on Interactive Brokers's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)
    • TWS
    • IBKR Desktop
    • Mobile
    ClassCountMin spread
    TWS—0.1
    IBKR Desktop—0.1
    Mobile—0.1
    Forex pairs100+—

    Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

    4.0/ 5
    Trustpilot rating
    —
    reviews
    02.10.2026
    snapshot, 2026
    SnapshotRatingReviews
    02.10.20264.0—

    Share of reviewers in Australia: — The platform does not publish it.

    Pros and cons(4 for and 2 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

    For
    • Round turn 5 USD on the raw + commission basis, under the Australia median 6
    • Locally authorised, licence 453554, read on 11.10.2026
    • Round-turn cost 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
    • 3 platforms: TWS, IBKR Desktop, Mobile
    Against
    • Withdrawal in 48 h, over the Australia median 24
    • Platforms 15 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

    Alternatives in Australia(5 of 76 scored in Australia)

    4.63
    Fusion Markets
    Locally licensed
    Round turn, USD
    4.8AU
    Min deposit, USD
    0AU
    Leverage
    30AU
    Rank in this country
    #1
    4.16
    CMC Markets
    Locally licensed
    Round turn, USD
    5AU
    Min deposit, USD
    0 groupAU
    Leverage
    200 group
    Rank in this country
    #12
    4.38
    Blueberry Markets
    Locally licensed
    Round turn, USD
    7AU
    Min deposit, USD
    100AU
    Leverage
    30AU
    Rank in this country
    #11
    4.17
    Eightcap
    Locally licensed
    Round turn, USD
    7AU
    Min deposit, USD
    100 groupAU
    Leverage
    30AU
    Rank in this country
    #13
    4.29
    Vantage
    Locally licensed
    Round turn, USD
    5AU
    Min deposit, USD
    50AU
    Rank in this country
    #10

    "group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

    Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

    Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a Australia score. Full methodology

    AxisWeightWhat is measuredInteractive Brokers
    Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform50
    Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median100
    Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning100
    Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country60
    Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
    Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country15

    FAQ

    Does Interactive Brokers accept residents of Australia?
    Yes. ASIC regulated Onboarding entity: Interactive Brokers Australia Pty Ltd
    Is Interactive Brokers licensed to serve clients in Australia?
    AFSL 453554 Checked on 11.10.2026.
    How much does one round turn cost at Interactive Brokers?
    About 5.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for Australia is 6.0 USD.
    Which trading platforms does Interactive Brokers support?
    TWS, IBKR Desktop, Mobile. Instruments: Stocks, options, futures, forex, bonds
    How can I withdraw money from Interactive Brokers in Australia?
    Not stated Australia
    What account types does Interactive Brokers offer?
    Universal Account

    Taxes for an Australian resident(1 rule)

    • Forex/CFD trading gains are not subject to a special standalone tax regime in the cited sources;https://www.interactivebrokers.com.au/en/trading/prime-broker-services.php

    Not tax advice. Check with the ATO.

    Verified · Sources