64 brokers measured in Australiabroker data checked 11.10.2026
OctaFX logoOctaFXGlobal default offshore entity

OctaFX in Australia — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Southerly editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
through an offshore entityAccepts residents of AustraliaOpened by OctaFX (Australia) Pty Ltd, register checked 11.10.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.012.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%90
  • Round-turn cost20%80
  • Safety20%0
  • Payouts15%97.5
  • Track record10%75
  • Platforms10%65

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.670 = 4.01 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (6 facts)

Onboarding entity
Global default offshore entity
Founded
2011
Retail leverage
500AU
Round turn
9 USDAU
Currencies
USD, EUR
Swap-free account
yes

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Licence check

No ASIC licence
Active on registerchecked 11.10.2026https://au.investing.com/brokers/reviews/octafx/
Open an account with OctaFX

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the OctaFX website
OctaFX's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards Australia residents
Global default offshore entity
Local standing
Unregulated in Australia
Licence as the register states it
No ASIC licence
Leverage for this entity
Up to 1:500
The firm behind it
Founded 2011 global broker
What we hold against it
No ASIC; offshore risk

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards Australian residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youGlobal default offshore entityLocal or offshore not stated in the source · ASIC licence —
1:500AU
Australia median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youUnregulated in Australia
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against Australia market median(priced from 73 of 76)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
OctaFX, raw spread plus commission9
Australia median, all 73 priced6
Australia median, the 62 priced on the raw spread plus commission6

Medians run over the 73 of 76 brokers that publish a price for Australia, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Micro, Pro, OctaTrader. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Cost calculator (median of 73 priced of 76)

OctaFX, per month180.00 USD
Australia median, per month120.00 USD

EURUSD round turns at the prices captured 01.10.2026. Shown in USD only: we do not publish a AUD conversion because the exchange rate is not part of our data.

Where OctaFX sits in the Australia base(76 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (73 of 76 priced)

9<5
575-10
310-15
315-20
120-25
025-30
030+

Median 6 USD · range 1.5-20 · this broker 9 USD · 3 of 76 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (7 of 76 priced)

4<20
020-40
040-60
060-80
380+

Median 15 USD · range 0-100 · this broker 25 USD · 69 of 76 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (42 of 76 with a Australia figure)

31<1000
61000-2000
32000-3000
03000-4000
24000+

Median 1:115 · range 30-5000 · this broker 1:500 · 34 of 76 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (76 brokers)

6of 64
Published, hours6not published38OctaFX is one of the 6

Payouts(2 methods)

MethodDeposit, hFee, USDMin, USD
E-wallets24050
Crypto only24050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (2 methods · 0 local rails)

E-wallets, crypto only

  • E-wallets
  • Crypto only
Account currency
USD, EUR
Fee declared
2 of 2 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(5 countries)

United StatesCanadaUnited KingdomJapanSpain

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(4 platforms)

  • MT4
  • MT5
  • OctaTrader
ClassCountMin spread
MT4—1
MT5—1
OctaTrader—1
All instruments300—

Identical for every row: Leverage 500 AU.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.8/ 5
Trustpilot rating
5, 581
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.85, 581

Share of reviewers in Australia: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(4 for and 5 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Withdrawal in 3 h, one of 74 of 76 brokers here that publish a time
  • Swap-free account available
  • Payouts 98 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 3 platforms: MT4, MT5, OctaTrader
Against
  • Round turn 9 USD on the raw + commission basis, over the Australia median 6
  • No Australia authorisation on file: the entity that onboards you is licensed elsewhere
  • A regulator warning is on file against this broker
  • Min deposit 25 USD, over the Australia median 15
  • Safety 0 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in Australia(5 of 76 scored in Australia)

4.55
Global Prime
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Min deposit, USD
0AU
Leverage
500AU
Rank in this country
#5
4.4
Axi
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Min deposit, USD
0AU
Leverage
30AU
Rank in this country
#7
4.61
IC Markets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Min deposit, USD
200 groupAU
Leverage
30AU
Rank in this country
#2
4.45
Pepperstone
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Leverage
30AU
Rank in this country
#6
4.43
ThinkMarkets
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Min deposit, USD
0 A$AU
Leverage
30AU
Rank in this country
#8

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a Australia score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredOctaFX
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform90
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median80
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning0
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country98
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings75
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country65

FAQ

Does OctaFX accept residents of Australia?
No. Unregulated in Australia Onboarding entity: Global default offshore entity
Is OctaFX licensed to serve clients in Australia?
No ASIC licence Checked on 11.10.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at OctaFX?
About 9.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for Australia is 6.0 USD.
What leverage does OctaFX offer to retail clients in Australia?
Up to 1:500. leverageGeo: Up to 1:500
Which trading platforms does OctaFX support?
MT4, MT5, OctaTrader. Instruments: Forex, CFDs, crypto
How can I withdraw money from OctaFX in Australia?
E-wallets, crypto only
What account types does OctaFX offer?
Micro, Pro, OctaTrader
Does OctaFX offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. OctaFX offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to Australia residents.

Taxes for an Australian resident(1 rule)

  • Forex/CFD trading gains are not subject to a special standalone tax regime in the cited sources;https://au.investing.com/brokers/reviews/octafx/

Not tax advice. Check with the ATO.

Verified · Sources